Momment In Time – Maungarei/Mountain

LI: To write a poem that describes as momment in time.

Our task was to create a poem by using the 5 senses which are Olfactory which means smell, Gustatory which is taste, Visual which is look, Tactile which is feel, and Auditory which is sound. Then we thought of what had happened in the past compared to today, For example: there weren’t many houses built in Auckland so Maori people lived in pa sites. We then wrote some things about what we heard while walking up the Maunga, and I had written things like the rocks rustling, the wind pasting through my ear , and the traffic. Then me and my group had thought of what the past could have heard such as the rustles of the piupiu skirts , the whistle of Tāwhiri-mātea welcoming us into his maunga, the voices of those who fought in the war. 

I really enjoyed this task because when we got back from the mountain I was really inspired about how Liana grandpa talked to my class about the history of Mt Wellington mountain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *